Friday, June 26, 2015

Friday Fun: Ebook Deals, Summer TV, YouTube

Happy Friday everyone. How was your week?

First, before the fun stuff, I want to recognize the nine people whose lives were taken in a Charleston church last week. It's a horrible tragedy, but I sadly can't say it's unthinkable. The U.S. is politically divided with deeply entrenched racism that threatens the daily lives of African Americans. We need to work as a nation to address this toxic racism. I urge you to be an ally and support the voices who need to be heard.

If you feel led to support the Charleston AME church, they have a donation button on their website. You can also donate to Charleston Public Library. One of the victims of the massacre was a librarian. Libraries are cornerstones of communities that do far more than supply books.

Ebook Deals Round-up:

So you might already know about BookBub and Read Cheaply (and if you don't, what are you waiting for? Get customized ebook deal alerts emailed to your liking!), but did you know some bloggers do the work for you by gathering deals too?

The Book Vixen: Kindle Deals and Freebies These are $2.99 or lower deals on romance and all subgenres, and some YA and mainstream non-genre fiction. Updated once a week.

Smart Bitches, Trashy Books: Books on Sale (archive)I think these are compiled at least weekly. You can also sign up for the weekly deal alert newsletter. These are romance and related subgenre and some YA.

Summer TV:

I watched two new summer shows this week:

Another Period on Comedy Central is like Downton Abbey meets Real Housewives with a cast of seasoned comedians and up-and-comers. Fans of The State and Drunk History will see familiar faces. Bonus: Natasha Leggero and Riki Lindhome who star as spoiled rotten wealthy sisters also create, write, and produce. Go women!

Mr. Robot on USA, Hulu: the hubz saw this early on Hulu and sort of freaked out. It's basically Chosen One wish fulfillment for the Reddit crowd, where a socially inept hacker is discovered and offered the opportunity to start a revolution. Bonus: person of color lead, artistic filmmaking, and a show that takes its time with a highly introverted main character.


Do you know about the Whiskey, Wine, & Writing videos? I will probably get the origins wrong, but I first found out about this last year as part of Pitch Wars. Writers/bloggers use this format to chat about publishing, writing, and you know, sometimes alcoholic beverages. Here's a recent ep featuring author Rachel Caine:

Watch adorably snarky puppets celebrate 10 years of YouTube:

Have a wonderful weekend everyone. Please leave a comment, I love to hear from you!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.